Small Business Advertising Packages
SL Development brings 20+ years experience in promoting and building successful online advertising campaigns using search ads and social media. Many business owners participate in local ads like YP.com or local newspapers and are frustrated with the inconsistent business activity and lack of reliable reporting.
Every business and market is different. Our team will help strategize which products might be the best fit for you. We did our best to outline some of the suggested minimum ad spends on these products and provide some insights on what you may be able to achieve. Some of our suggestions may include:
Social Media - Meta Ads | Social Media - X (Formerly Twitter) | Social Media - LinkedIn |
Social Media - TikTok | SEM - Google Adwords | SEM - Bing |
Ready to boost your digital advertising? Reach out to SL Development today for tailored solutions that drive results. Elevate your online presence with us!
Regardless of platform, there are a few standard-issue practices to follow when advertising for a small business:
- If you plan to run ads on social media platforms, you should also have an organic plan to keep your new audience engaged.
- Always consider your ad and destination. Where are you asking users to go? Does that destination stay relevant to your advertisement and audience?
- Present the audience with a clear call to action. One that you can measure to determine success.
- Set some benchmarks for success. Plain and simple- goals. How many conversions do you need to generate a return on your ad spend?
$600 Monthly Meta Ad Budget for a Small Business
Social media can be a great way to reach new customers. With audience targeting options like age, location, interests and browsing history you can effectively and easily find the right people for your service or product. Our basic social media advertising includes monthly reporting so you know how your money is being spent.
Perfect for:
- E-commerce
- Retail
- Technology
- Professional Services (CPA, Legal, Financial Advisors)
- Doctors & Specialists
- Commercial & Residential Real Estate
- Health & Wellness Professionals
Expectations: Your ads will likely reach 10,000-15,000+ people (actual results will vary by location, industry, and targeting). It is not uncommon to generate 8-10 leads on a monthly basis via website conversions or phone calls. Additionally, implementing a remarketing campaign can be a great way to recapture users who didn’t convert at first (clicked on your ad, browsed your website, abandoned cart, or viewed your social media profile, ect.) and retarget them with specific ads that gain your business more leads.
$500 Monthly X (Formerly Twitter) Advertising Plan
X is an effective tool to reach a wide audience with real-time engagement. It’s great for public awareness campaigns, as well as education or career-oriented growth. You can reach great niche communities with a combination of organic and paid efforts. Mobile use is the idea when advertising on X, which makes it a great option for promoting apps and/or SaaS offerings.
Perfect for:
- Apps
- Media & Entertainment
- Technology
- News and Publishing
- Higher Ed / Continued Learning
- Niche Communities
- Residential real estate (rentals in particular)
Expectations: Depending on the application, you may focus success on app downloads, tweet engagements or clicks to your site. If tracking a click on your site it’s important to monitor conversions to measure the return on investment. As you can see from our notes here, Twitter may not be the most popular choice for a small business advertising campaign. However, each situation is unique and products should always be evaluated during the strategy phase.
$500 Monthly LinkedIn Advertising Campaign
A very commercial platform now owned by Microsoft- LinkedIn is a gateway to industry based targeting. With the ability to target by job title, work experience, education or other various attributes LinkedIn offers valuable advertising capabilities. Their ad platform is similar to Facebook, in that you can by your audience based on a click bid, or impression based bid. Pricing for LinkedIn is much higher than what you see for comparable display ad in-stream products. For that reason, the monthly buy-in is a little higher than Facebook. It’s not unusual to see CPM’s that go from $30-45. The reasoning is simple, the audience selection is much smaller on LinkedIn, so simple supply and demand dictate higher prices to reach a quality audience.
Perfect for:Â
- B2B Software
- Security and IT (MSPs)
- Finance and Insurance
- Higher Education
- Commercial Real Estate
Expectations:Â Content is the key to success on LinkedIn. High-value relevant content that prompts a user to engage with your business. In a more sophisticated setup, it’s a great top-of-funnel product. If that means nothing to you- it means the customers are not likely to engage if you push a direct sell on them. Instead, try to educate, and build trust with the audience. Offer them something of value to position your business as a thought leader or subject matter expert. Relationships that start that way are much more likely to convert. That makes LinkedIn valuable for a business that has a good track record for generating content.
$600 Monthly TikTok Ad Budget For Small Business
TikTok’s ad platform offers a dynamic avenue for businesses to engage with their target audience. Leveraging sophisticated algorithms and user data, advertisers can effectively target users based on demographics, interests, and behaviors. Ad types range from in-feed videos and native spark ads to branded effects and hashtag challenges, allowing for versatile storytelling and brand integration. To make the most of TikTok’s ad platform, it’s essential to create content that aligns with the platform’s vibrant, creative culture, fostering authenticity and resonance with users.
Perfect for:
- Fashion and Beauty
- Food and Beverage
- Entertainment and Media
- Fitness and Wellness
- E-commerce
- Travel and Hospitality
Expectations: Campaigns should center on building brand awareness or driving user engagement and traffic. Strategic allocation of funds towards compelling content creation and targeted ad placements can yield significant results with approximately 150,000-200,000 impressions each month within this budget range.
$750 Monthly Google Ads Budget for a Small Business
Google Ads is an ideal product for the small business. Targeting by search query and location allow us to reach a user in need. It is the most direct way to reach a customer at a very well defined point of need. The intent of a search query can tell us so much about a user which allows advertisers to operate with great precision. Google Ads is a massive product that has great reach. It’s hard to find a business or industry that search ads won’t work for. But there are definitely clear cases where it does not make sense. As with any ad campaign, a strategy should be established to determine if Adwords is a fit for your business or not.
Perfect for:
- Local & Small Businesses
- Consultants
- Professional Services (CPA, Legal, Financial Advisors)
- Doctors & Specialists
- Commercial & Residential Real Estate
- Health & Wellness Professionals
Expectations:Â Google Ads is a CPC product, so your budget will very clearly define the runway for activity. We can use some simple examples to help project activity. For example, let’s say an ad spend of $1,000 is established. In the sample business, say a local plumber, we find average CPC is around $4. That means we can comfortably say that with a $1000 budget you should see 250 visits. ($1000 / $4 CPC = 250). But you won’t be paying $4 for each click. Google Ads is based on a bid system, which takes lots of factors into account including budget, quality, scheduling and competitive landscape. An optimized campaign means you are operating lean- high-quality keyword targets with strong ads. Leading to a destination that is relevant and easy to use. This mindset leads to better bid opportunities and a budget that works harder for you. So you should expect to pay at least, or below your average CPC costs (check your own using the Google Keyword Planner).